Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-07-2015, 07:41 PM   #1

Advice for a DSLR Newbie

Hi all. I have been reading the forum for many months now, and have learned so much from everyone. I finally decided to register. I am hoping that I can get opinions regarding lenses for my first digital SLR.

I ventured into the Pentax world in about 1999, when I bought a film SLR (ZX-10). It wasn't top of the line but it took amazing pictures (for my purposes). Sadly, the camera died on me a few years ago, & I just never made the leap to digital. Now, I am ready, and after having done some research, I have decided on the K-S2. Now my dilemma is what lenses? I am most interested in landscape and wildlife photography, although I like to take pics of just about everything, in all kinds of light. I am not a photo expert by any stretch, but I do like to play around with the options available on the camera when I have time and did do some manual focus shots with my old SLR.

Right now, I am trying to choose between the 18 - 135 or the duo of the 18 - 55 and 50 - 200. I also am interested in using my old film SLR lens, the Pentax FA - J 75 - 300. I know that isn't great glass, but I was generally happy with the pictures I got using it with film. What I don't know is how that lens will work on the K-S2 (I know that it's compatible, I just don't know if the quality will be comparable?)

One more consideration. .. I can get a new K-S2 w/18-135 for $800 (such a steal!) or w/the 2 lenses, bag, and 32gb SD card for $870.

As you might have guessed, I consider this a long-term investment, so I am okay with spending the money. But, I want to spend wisely. With no local Pentax retailers, I really need someone to just tell me what to buy. Lol. Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Sorry for such a long post. Thank you!

06-07-2015, 07:52 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome!