Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-05-2007, 04:43 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
What teleconverter for which lens?

Okay folks! I've never used a teleconverter before, so am pleading an advanced case of Gross Ignorance on the subject! What teleconverters are available for use with Pentax lenses, which ones do you recommend and why, and what experience do any of you have with them?
My (limited) understanding is that they reduce the available light by X stops, with X being an amount determined by the focal length of the teleconverter (i.e. a 2X would reduce your lens by 2 stops.) Enlighten me, oh great Pentax gurus!
Rob W

02-05-2007, 07:53 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Teleconverters fit into two broad categories. 1. special purpose. These are usually designed to only work with a few matched lenses. Often the teleconverter lens elements actually reach into the camera lens. This means they can't even mount on certain lenses. 2. general purpose converters. These are more generic in use and will physically fit any lens. They are not made to match particular lenses.