Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-02-2015, 08:48 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Fixed aperture lens question

As I've stated in the title, please forgive the stupidity of this question but I'm an absolute newbiee to photigraphy. My question is this.

If I buy a fixed aperture lens, is there absolutley no way of me manually choosing different apertures when using it.

It's just when reading reviews of lenses such as the D*16-50 it references different apertures, however I was under the impression that it was fixed at 2..8

Cheers

07-02-2015, 08:52 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
A fixed aperture zoom lens refers to the construction allowing the lens to maintain the large F2.8 (or whatever) aperture even as you zoom the lens. It does not mean you are stuck with only F2.8, you can certainly stop down to F4, F5.6, F8, F11, etc.
07-02-2015, 09:00 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What JinDesu said ^^. Many zooms are variable-aperture, meaning the aperture closes down as the focal length increases. For instance, the 18-55 kit lens max aperture at 18mm is f/3.5. When you zoom out to 55mm, the max aperture is only f/5.6.
07-02-2015, 09:04 AM   #4

Original Poster
Ok thanks. This adds a new dimension to my new lens choosing.

07-02-2015, 09:11 AM   #5
Pentaxian

The only true fixed aperture lens you are likely to run into (meaning it really only has one aperture) is a telephoto mirror lens, like a 500mm f/8. Anything else talking about fixed aperture is a zoom lens (not a prime) and it is telling you the maximum aperture stays the same at any focal length of the zoom (which is hard, because it is a ratio). While fixed aperture zooms have an obvious advantage in terms of speed, don't assume a variable aperture zoom is inferior overall. Because it is easier to design a variable aperture zoom, they can be just as good or even superior optically. (Read lots of reviews of whatever you are considering.)