Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2015, 02:50 AM   #1
Veteran Member

What is the sharpest lens for a K3, 17-70 or similar?

I have been using the Pentax DA 17-70mm f/4 SDM for a few years.

Most of my shooting is done in TAV mode, and I find the 17-70 covering nearly all requirements. The only other lens I have is a (something like 50-200) dirt cheap Pentax one which gets used once a year. (A lot has changed since carrying an OM2SP, later OM4Ti, 5 lenses and 25 rolls of Kodachrome 25 and I am not sorry).

It works great, of course, but sometimes cannot focus properly. Also I *feel* that the K3 should be a lot sharper than I am getting. Mostly I shoot at F8 which according to reviews is optimal for most of these lenses.

I may be missing something but the only other *Pentax* option is a very similar WR lens. Not worth changing for that one!

What is the very best quality lens in the 17-70 sort of range, regardless of price, which will fully work with the K3?

07-20-2015, 03:22 AM   #2
Inactive Account

In my experience, Sigma 35mm is exceptionally sharp. 70mm Ltd too. Both awesome lenses

21mm Ltd is great lens too. Not the sharpest lens around, but a really good performer. Was my most used lens before I got the Sigma 35mm.

Last edited by Apapukas; 07-20-2015 at 03:27 AM.
07-20-2015, 03:22 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery | Albums
hi Peterh337

i have the 18-135 WR lens which is 99.9% of my shots spot on. I believe the new pentax lens HD PENTAX-DA 16-85 should be a better choice from though i havent used it.
My sharpest lens was my Sigma 18-35 1.8, but since half of the shots where not focused correctly (even with the Sigma dock for adjustment ) i sold it.

But since almost 2 years i use only primes for the known advantages. My favorite: DA 15mm limited for landscape.
cheers,david
07-20-2015, 03:37 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by peterh337 Quote