Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-09-2015, 07:26 AM   #1

FA 50/1.7 vs. 77 ltd autofocus speed...

Hello, I am somewhat new to Pentax, at least the digital world of Pentax. I have been using a K200D with legacy glass and started to believe that I needed auto focus for two reasons. 1) my favorite two subjects run around the house and are hard to catch with manual focus, 2) those lenses are a little difficult to focus accurately consistently. I recently purchased a 20-40 ltd ( about a year ago) and really like that lens for the most part, its pretty slow but very nice otherwise. The Autofocus seems pretty quick though I have had a few times where it hunts and wont focus at all, this isn't the norm.
So, in my hunt for a slightly longer lens to replace my 100/2.8 smc-m with, I have been considering a 77/1.8, 70/2.4, and at one time the 100/2.8 macro. I have pretty much settled on purchasing a 77/1.8. The 100/2.8 ended up off the list because its a macro and is a little slower in the auto focus speed department. However, a local store had one of those as well as an FA 50/1.7, so I looked at both. Both were REALLY slow and neither wanted to lock focus, except on stationary targets and even then the 100/2.8 needed a bit of assistance. The 50mm being the better of the two which I expected, but both lenses left me feeling like they weren't up to the task. I am seriously wondering if this is just an FA series lens thing or maybe these two lenses focus that slow...
MY real question is, how does the 77/1.8 compare with the 50/1.7 for auto focus speed? I know the 70/2.4 is supposed to faster, but not by much, than the 77. With what I was seeing yesterday, I am wondering if I am better off with manual focus glass, in which case it may be better to save up for the Ziess 85/1.4. I really hate to do that however.
Any suggestions/ input would be greatly appreciated.

08-09-2015, 01:23 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian