Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-19-2015, 07:15 AM   #1

Sigma 10-20 decentered?

Hey folks,

during my last holidays I used my new Sigma 10-20 f4.0-5.6 a lot and really got some great shots. Only while processing me from time to time I was heavily disappointed by the lack of sharpness. Until now I thought this would be a mixture of misaligned focus, motion blur and being the lens wideangled a design problem.
However, I rethought all that again and had a look on one of my very first shots with this lens. What you see below is an out of camera jpeg which has (at least for my eyes) heavily more unsharpness on the left half of the image than on the right letting me think about decentering issues.
As I am not an expert on optical lens quailty I wanted to hear your opinions of what was wrong in this shot or what is wrong with the lens?

taken at F/7.1 1/250 10mm ISO200 - Pentax K3

Thanks in advance,
Peter

08-19-2015, 07:54 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I think you have to post a crop of the left and the right side of the picture for comparison, at this size I hardly see any difference.

Regards, Patrick
08-19-2015, 08:07 AM   #3

Original Poster
You are right I could have come up with that on my own ;-).
However, I made a crop of the far left and right sides of the image at equal height. The distance to the border of the image is the same for both crops. See below.

08-19-2015, 08:49 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I wouldn't accept that lens. Look pretty badly decentered.

08-19-2015, 09:00 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I am no expert either but I think your are right, looks like decentering.
08-19-2015, 09:27 AM   #6

Original Poster
I was not intending to replace it. Instead, since I am still inside the warranty period I wanted to have it checked by Sigma if it's worth it.
08-19-2015, 12:21 PM   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter