Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-27-2015, 09:51 AM   #1
Veteran Member

How to find perfect infinity focus (Rokinon 14mm)?

I have been shooting milky way and night skies for a few months now and the most difficult thing is finding infinity focus. I look at live view while zooming in all the way (I think 10x is the maximum on K3) to see if the stars are in focus. During my first few outings, I found that the stars looked (or seemed to look) most sharp/in focus when the focus ring was turned all the way till the end beyond the infinity mark. That was easy to remember as I had to turn the ring till the end (till it stops) beyond infinity to get stars in focus. It was easy to do it even in pick dark. But I noticed that stars in all my photos still looked a little out of focus when I started to post process them on my desktop like the image below. I chalked it up to lens limitation and kept shooting the same way.

Couple of weeks ago I was trying to capture milky way at Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest and I guess I did not turn my lens all the way to the end beyond infinity (It was below freezing and I could hardly feel my fingers). That image came out to be a lot more sharper than all my previous milky way images (link below). That is when i realized that turning it all the way to the end is not truly infinity focus.... but I based that on live view.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/12-post-your-photos/302522-night-ancient-beings.html