Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-19-2008, 02:42 AM   #1
Pentaxian

For the folks over at POTW from Wildman by request

First let me say this setup is not for everyone. It's specialized for
capturing shy fast moving woodland birds in their native habitat. This
is not a grab and go setup where you pick up your camera and wander
through the woods taking snap shots of whatever happens to show up.

Second I'm very much old school when it comes to photography. I cut my
teeth on a gorgeous Rolliflex twin lens reflex with a Zeiss 2.8 planar
way back in the late 1950s. Think Ansel Adams not photojournalism.

Third I am primarily a birder not a photographer. I say this because
after 40 years of birding I have developed a sense of where to find
birds which is a big advantage considering my photographic setup.

OK. heres the basic facts:

Camera:
Pentax *ist DL soon to be replaced by a K20D

Scopes:
Astro Tech 80mm f/7/560mm APO triplet
Pentax 100mm ED spotter f/6.2/620mm with Pentax CA-35 DSLR camera adapter
Celestron 102mm f/5/500mm "Wide View" achro
Orion 120mm f/8.3/1000mm achro

All mounted on Bogen 3246 tripod and a Bogen 3421 fork mount.

Plus a mess of extension tubes, remotes releases, barlows etc.

Instead of trying to explain everything I'll include some pics of the
various setups and will be happy to answer any specific questions in
detail.

Last edited by wildman; 06-28-2008 at 11:55 PM.
06-19-2008, 03:21 AM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Thanks for the great info. I'm sure I'll have some other questions after doing some research but just a few for now. Is the barlow the tube shown in Pic 2 and the last one between the camera body and the scope? This is the unit here correct? How a Barlow Lens works

When fitting an extension tube set to a scope (as in the last image above), it simply increases the magnification? Any issues with infinity focus? Why use an extension tube instead of a Barlow?