Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2008, 03:34 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Pentax A 50 f/2.8 + Cosina 1:1 Macro adapter

I think I am closer to 1:1 in putting the Cosina 1:1 Macro adapter onto my Pentax A 50mm f/2.8 1:2 Macro. Here are some test shots done this morning.

Somehow, it is my first time to do closer to 1:1 macro and I find it a bigger challenge to shoot macro without a tripod. A lot of not-so-sharp shots come from the minute movement of my body upon focusing. And once the adapter is mounted, the DOF becomes razor thin making it very difficult to hand hold the shot in 1:1 in minimum focal distance. Overall the adapter gets the job done for me without much loss in bokeh and lighting.

Thanks,
Hin

Last edited by hinman; 06-24-2008 at 05:18 PM.
06-20-2008, 03:37 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Not a great photo, but here is the perspective shots with the adapter mounted

Without adapter

With adapter mounted

Thanks,
Hin
06-20-2008, 07:35 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
B&W, Narrow DOF question

One shot in b&w conversion due to harsh and contrasty lighting with shadow

In the test shots, I get many narrow DOF shots that is very thin from off focus. I wonder if that is normal in using an adapter or if there are ways to address that with a smaller aperture. C&C welcome especially on the thin and narrow DOF when I use the adapter and shoot closer to minimum focus distance, e.g. a big portion of the flower following shot is out of focus

I shot it in f/5.6 and I wonder if upping the iso and a smaller aperture can minimize the effect.

Thanks,
Hin
06-20-2008, 08:50 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hin,
Those are gorgeous shots! They have a surreal quality about them, almost like paintings.

Heather

06-22-2008, 06:23 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by hwblanks Quote
Hin,