Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 88 Likes Search this Thread
01-30-2017, 06:01 AM - 1 Like   #151
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Well, performances are certainly impressive regarding vignetting. Even better than I would have thought.

do you notice any decrease in sharpness for regular shooting? That's my main concern as an optical designer, I worry that the baffle was there for a valid reason.

01-30-2017, 03:35 PM - 1 Like   #152
Loyal Site Supportaxian
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by bdery Quote
do you notice any decrease in sharpness for regular shooting?
Only had time to snap a couple of bird pics in the back yard, and a few around the house, but on first inspection, I am not seeing any increase in abberations, nor any notable bad behavior. My guess is that the baffle just reflects that the FF designed lens was optimized for aps-c since Pentax had no FF at the time it came to market. Next time I have a chance, I'll do some astro-photos with it, which are an 'acid test' of any lens. I'll post the results next time I have an outing with it.
02-05-2017, 09:06 AM   #153
Veteran Member

Thanks to all who have contributed to this very helpful thread. I am contemplating this mod. One question though... regarding the three JIS screws that need to be removed, have folks had success using Phillips head screwdrivers or are JIS screwdrivers necessary? I have an assortment of small Phillips head screwdrivers but it seems that I could damage the screws if they are tight and really need JIS tools. And I assume it might be a good idea to mark the baffle before removing it so that it's clear where to cut the corners out in the baffle.
02-07-2017, 05:12 PM   #154
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteQuote:
regarding the three JIS screws that need to be removed, have folks had success using Phillips head screwdrivers or are JIS screwdrivers necessary?