Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2015, 12:02 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Recommend any good variable ND filters?

I am planning to buy a variable ND filter for my Sigma 17-50 mm f2.8 lens (77mm filter thread). Does anyone have any good recommendations for which brand to get? Tiffen seems to be the most commonly available on the market but has "meh" reviews. Singh-Ray is almost the same price as the lens Is it really worth investing $350+ for a variable ND filter? I am not a professional photographer by any means but at the same time I don't want ruin the photo quality (color casting, vignetting, sharpness loss etc.,). I usually don't enjoy spending a lot of time on post-processing. I have read some decent reviews about Hoya but many people have been complaining about the filter touching the front bulge of lens.

Any recommendations/suggestions? I probably will need something like 1-4 stops only. I am not sure if I will ever use it to an extreme extent of going 8 or 9 stops.

Thanks.

11-12-2015, 12:58 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Most of them are decent up to 4-5 stops. After that you can get banding -- especially visible with wider lenses. I gave up on variable ND filters and purchased a good set of three ND filters which works very well for my purposes: -3 stops, -6 stops, -9 stops.

If you really are going to only need a max of 4 stops, why not get a set of two NDs: -2 stops and - 4 stops? Not only cheaper and delivering better quality, but that should cover 90% of your use cases as well.

YMMV

Michael
11-12-2015, 01:04 PM   #3
Veteran Member

The problem with Variable ND filters is that they are basically just 2 polarizers stacked and you can get weird effects like an X-pattern and uneven colorization, especially with wider angles and stronger ND settings.
If you only need 1-4 Stops only, I would get a good 1 Stop and a 3 Stop ND (B+W, Hoya) and just stack them.