Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 13 Likes Search this Thread
11-16-2015, 11:52 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Considering 20-40mm, is it going to be sufficient to Zion/Bryce Canyons

Hi Shutterbugs,

I am new to wide angle, and desperately researching all wide angle lens options for my K-5iis. I considered Sigma 18-35(supposed to be good but with some issues), Pentax 20-40, 12-24 and 21mm. I am leaning to the 20-40 since it would be my first zoom(I only have 40mm ltd and 200mmDA) and I want to cover some ground.
But what i wonder, in my upcoming trip and other landscape needs, will the 20-4oo mm at the 20mm end leave me wanting more in wide angle. By no means am I a professional, and also do not know how to do panoramas. But heard that in these canyons 15 and less is a good idea...
decision time comes by black friday and I need a winner.
Also- I would love recommendation on another zoom. Since I have only 40, vintage 50mm, and 300DA(which I am considering a 1.4 TC for better animal reach), that leaves me with 50-300 uncovered options...I like quality over economics, but know nothing about this in between range..
Right now I am planning to carry wide angle, 40mm and 300 mm to canyon, so I get vistas as well as some wildlife...

Check out my animals: https://500px.com/katerinapaleckova

Thank you,
Kat

11-16-2015, 12:04 PM - 1 Like   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The 20-40 is a very nice lens but I think 20mm is not all that wide on APS-C. I would go with the Pentax 12-24 if you want UWA down to 12mm or the Pentax 16-85 if you think 16mm will be enough.
11-16-2015, 12:09 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
If you want wider as well as more middle-ground coverage, the new HD DA 16-85 WR is very highly regarded, and cheaper than the 20-40. I use the DA 15 for wide angle, but if I wanted to do it with a zoom, that would probably be my choice.