Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2015, 04:39 PM   #1
Forum Member

Pentax 60-250 vs Sigma 50-500

Hi Pentax friends,

I am relatively new to photography and I have been shooting with my first DSLR - a K3.

Mostly I have been shooting sports - my 3 daughters do a lot of indoor and outdoor sports.
So action shooting.

I like the tamron 70-200 f2.8 for indoor gymnastics, soccer, and field hockey.

However, for outdoor sports, it seems too short.
I have a hard time reaching much past about 1/2 the field in soccer and FH.
The photos turn out OK when I crop. But, it seems if I had more reach, I would be able to get even better photos.

Not sure if the extra 50mm would help out a ton for outdoor sports, but the WR would be nice.

I am sure the 500mm of the Bigma would reach across the fields, but I imagine that would be only an option on bright sunny days...therefore counting out many of the MI evening/night games and even maybe compromising day games when it is overcast (whether it is raining or not) because of the higher F#s of this lens...please correct me if I am wrong.

I look for any insight about these 2 lenses (and I know these lenses have been discussed before) specifically for outdoor sports.

Thanks!!!!

12-09-2015, 04:46 PM   #2
Veteran Member

They are quite different lenses...

But I would recommend the 60-250 for your needs.
QuoteOriginally posted by radman Quote
I am sure the 500mm of the Bigma would reach across the fields, but I imagine that would be only an option on bright sunny days...therefore counting out many of the MI evening/night games and even maybe compromising day games when it is overcast (whether it is raining or not) because of the higher F#s of this lens...please correct me if I am wrong.
It won't AF that well if it is darker i.e. overcast.
12-09-2015, 05:29 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums