Yos
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would go for the DA 50mm, just because it's F1.8
Or save up money for the FA31mm.

12-31-2015, 01:08 AM   #32
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Both of the Plastic Fantastics will give great results. The 35/2.4 gives a 'normal' field of view on APS-c so would be better as a walk-around, as the 50 would be a short telephoto.
12-31-2015, 02:21 AM   #33
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by ScooterMaxi Jim Quote
Depending on the price you can find, split the difference and go with the lovely, small 40mm xs. I got it new for under $100 (US) last month, and thought it was just one of those lenses you could bring along for the fun of it because of the pancake size. Then I started shooting with it - and found out that I very much prefer it over the DA 50 in almost all ways. Better build (metal mount), superb into the corners even wide open, and a quiet, accurate AF, and natural 3D look not found on most low-priced lenses. I'd only consider the DA 50 if I need low light shooting, or close focusing. Also, the 40mm lens length turns out to be far more useful than I had expected.

Nothing against the DA 35, but you can get so much more spending a little bit more with the far-better FA 35 or the 35 macro. The 40xs and FA 35 render very similarly based on their across the frame consistency - which is a very good thing and quite rare to find in the newer, lower priced optical designs.
Yes! I love my 40mm XS. It came with a K-01, and like you, I considered it a "fun" lens, at first. Soon, I realized that the 40mm XS is a fantastic lens!! The curved blades help render super-pleasing bokeh, and it is sharp edge-to-edge. Big fan of the XS.
12-31-2015, 05:07 AM   #34
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter