Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-08-2016, 09:51 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Help me identify my lenses

I have 4 old lenses from my regular SLR. Only 3 are Pentax brand so I'll ask about those here. I thought they were all M lenses, but now I'm not sure. None have an A on the aperture ring, but they all have a man/auto switch on the side. I have never used them in auto. They are all screw mount and were used with my Spotmatic F. So, what are these? M or A? Or something else?

(This is my first time attaching any photos from my phone, hopefully they come out right)

01-08-2016, 09:53 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Those are classic old screw mount pentax lenses, all manual focus.

Look them up here:

Pentax M42 Screwmount Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
01-08-2016, 09:53 AM   #3
Veteran Member

M42 mount lenses.
The man auto switch means this:
In Man aperture is set at whatever you have it at when framing and focusing and shooting the picture.
In Auto aperture is wide open when framing and focusing, the camera stops the lens down (using a little pin that is on the bottom of the lenses) to take the photo.

I believe it is these three lenses:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/Super-Multi-Coated-TAKUMAR-Super-Tak...35mm-F2.5.html
https://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/SMC-S-M-C-Super-Takumar-50mm-F1.4.html
https://www.pentaxforums.com/lensreviews/S-M-C-Super-Takumar-28mm-F3.5.html

Out of interest, what is your fourth lens?
01-08-2016, 09:56 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by bertwert Quote
M42 mount lenses.
In Man aperture is set at whatever you have it at when framing and focusing and shooting the picture.
In Auto aperture is wide open when framing and focusing, the camera stops the lens down (using a little pin that is on the bottom of the lenses) to take the photo.