Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
01-23-2016, 10:59 AM - 2 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Starting a lens collection from scratch on a budget

What would you do if you were starting from scratch and building your lens collection? You are also on a budget, so you are probably working with a K-S2 or K-50 or used K-5 II(s), or, in my case, a K-x and later a K-30. If I knew then what I know now, this is the order in which I would buy my lenses so that I could get maximum shooting options and maximum value and wouldn’t waste money buying stuff I’d end up not using. (Yes, it would be wonderful simply to buy the three amigos and the *lenses and the D FA 150-450, but that’s simply not feasible. I’m still learning how to shoot good pictures, so I doubt that class of lens really would help me anyway.) At this point, I’m not particularly concerned about full-frame. About a year ago, PF put out a guide “Building a Quality Lens Kit on a Budget,” but none of their suggested kits quite fit my needs, and new lenses and prices have come on the scene since then.

I’d start with these:
  • All around: DA 18-135 or DA 16-85
    The 16-85 wasn’t available when I got my K-30. The 18-135 is a fine lens and now is available at a great price. I’d try to get the 16-85 mainly for the 16mm and better edges.)
  • Long: DA/L 55-300
    I think these are such a great value lens, and it offers a really versatile range. Any version is fine, but I’d try to get the HD version for the WR.
  • Fast: M50/A50 f1.7 or DA 50 f1.8 or SMC/Super Takumar 55 f1.8
    Can’t go wrong with any of these, and the M/A50s are a nice step into shooting manual. The Takumar would get you into the wonderful world of M42 lenses. These also are ready to go on full-frame.