Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-15-2016, 03:07 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Scored a cheap 50mm, has some fungus

So I managed to find a 50mm f/1.8 on eBay for $35 including shipping, it should be here sometime next week. My question is this, according to the description the lens has a small amount of fungus inside it, not enough to affect the photos but it's there, which means it could grow and eventually damage the lens.

I've already looked up an article in the forums that details how to take it apart, and I'm pretty confident I can do it myself without damaging anything, but since I've never done this before does anyone have any advice or warnings(aside from, "don't scratch it" lol) about anything I might need to be aware of?

02-15-2016, 03:44 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Rai93 Quote
but it's there, which means it could grow and eventually damage the lens.
No. Fungal spores are always present. Once you actually see the fungus growth it is either already dead or actively growing. If growing (not dead) then within a short period of time it will grow out of the lens, invade your camera and eventually your entire house Just joking, this cannot actually happen because there is nothing for it to grow on. No water, no food, so it grows a little bit and then dies.

When you see fungus in a lens it is almost always dead. So whether it needs cleaned off comes down to whether it impairs the optics of the lens. Any damage it might do to the lens or coatings has already been done.