Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-10-2008, 08:23 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
lens help appreciated - k100d

I would very much appreciate some advice. I have just purchased from ebay a second hand k100d super as my first srl. I did so having outweighed the benefits over a Canon EOS 350d, my original intended purchase, for which I had intended to purchase a 50mm 1.4 USM Autofocus lens. I would be grateful for advice on an equivalent lens for the Pentax. I am interested in portraiture, macro photography, studies of texture and light and such like (less so action photography). I apologise for being vague, I am just starting to learn about photography having decided to step up from a compact and so far all I know is from library books and Utube so all help appreciated if someone has the time.

Many thanks

Rhona

Last edited by rhonalou; 07-10-2008 at 08:24 AM. Reason: add to title
07-10-2008, 08:27 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Rhona,

If macro isn't a requirement, I recommend the FA 50mm f1.4. wonderfully sharp, and a pleasing brokeh. A very "fast" lens that can be had for around $200, and is a must have in my book!

Regards,

Tony
07-10-2008, 08:29 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks, I was just looking at those on the net, I'll take a closer look!
07-10-2008, 08:33 AM   #4
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Rhona, Welcome to the forums.

I'll direct you to a post done earlier today. It was intended for a film shooter and is not totally on subject but might offer some good info:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/post-your-photos/31798-new-pentax-user-co...r-2-cents.html

Also the equivalent lens for what you suggested is the FA50mm f1.4 reviewed here:
Pentax Lens Review Database - 50mm F1.4
Another stellar pair of lenses are the 43mm (maybe a bit too short for portraits):
Pentax Lens Review Database - 43mm F1.9 Limited
and the 77mm Ltd which is about perfect: