Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-11-2008, 08:51 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Amateur sports photography...on a Pentax?

Can anyone shed light on available lens options for me? I'm interested in getting into sports photography - will be shooting mainly field sports; hockey, football, rugby and netball. Particularly the football and rugby will require high IQ at 300mm I would have thought, although as of yet I have no real experience.

I want to be able to shoot floodlit matches... but maybe my conclusion will be that i have to settle for only shooting day time stuff.

Zoom seems ideal - I can't imagine primes being usable in reality in the 300mm range, although i love my 24/50mm primes. Anyone with any experience feel free to correct me.

Bigma would be an option, but seems slow... and I would rather spend less and not have 500mm(?). I don't mind any size of lens as I will be using at least a monopod.

Obviously there needs to be a spec compromise in some respect to keep the cost reasonable, but I can't decide what to prioritise! I would also consider any realistic second hand options.

07-11-2008, 09:20 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
70-200mm f/2.8 with a quality 1.4x TC when needed. That would give you 100-300 at f/4 with the TC. I think that's about as fast you'll get at those focal lengths. Depending on where you can position yourself, and if it's permitted, a good high-powered flash should help. For daylight stuff, the Bigma should be fast enough, easily giving you 1/1500-1/2000 with an ISO boost.
07-11-2008, 09:24 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by Jodokast96 Quote