Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2016, 12:47 PM   #1

upgrades from a legendary 55mm f2

i've had a 55mm f2 (from the K1000) for quite some time now, and it's been my total go-to for portraits. it's a little bit knackered, and a little bit bashed up, and to be honest, not nearly sharp or nice enough to use, and i'd like something a little better.

my budget is £100, tops. i'm a student, shooting on a second-hand k10.

obviously this limits me to the various iterations of the 1.7, or the DA 1.8, within that range of focal length. no doubt there are tons of copies from other brands, but unless one is consistently seen as decent, they're almost always a gamble.

so if anyone's got any recommendations, owning or having owned these lenses, i want to hear them. cheaper the better.

no, the 77mm limited is not an option, nor is the 43.

cheers

05-12-2016, 12:51 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It's hard to go wrong with the DA 50mm in my opinion!

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
05-12-2016, 01:08 PM   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

With AF in mind, I'd agree with Adam - the DA50 f/1.8 is pretty hard to beat at current prices.