Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-14-2008, 03:34 AM   #1
Inactive Account

LBA - DA 55-300 images and Tamron 1.4x TC test

To save me the time and effort reposting it all!

LBA - DA55-300 obligatory 1st shots: Pentax SLR Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review

If you want to know anything more specific, I have more images now. My Tamron 70-300 LD Di is going to my son so I won't be able to do any more comparisons, you'll just have to take my word for it that the DA 55-300 is considerably better, I'm a professional tightwad, so believe me I wouldn't spend any money if I didn't think it was worthwhile!

Unless you're really broke, the extra is worth it.

07-14-2008, 06:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Nice series as Im looking forward to the same lens and TC if when it becomes available

cheers
07-14-2008, 06:49 AM   #3
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Quite impressive and thanks for the post. I like the non-TC shots better I think but they are very close. As the lens is fairly small, it should have a solid following for a light weight, good quality option.
07-14-2008, 07:11 AM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I got one on Friday and was impressed with it just tooling around the yard. In fact, I'm thinking about selling my kit lens 18-55 AL II and finding another lens to replace it or just use my FA 50mm f1.4 and get a wide angle or two for my regular bag.

07-14-2008, 08:48 AM   #5
Veteran Member

nice tests Richard, looks like the TC hasn't reduced the quality too much, however i'd imagine w/ the TC and the lens at 300mm, the viewfinder must be close to darkness

these 55-300 posts really need to stop, i'm getting very tempted
07-15-2008, 02:30 AM   #6
Veteran Member

Thanks Richard. Very helpful pics/info. You've sold me on this lens. That's 3 lens on my wishlist now...anyone want to buy a kidney?