Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-14-2008, 08:16 AM   #1
Inactive Account

DA 55-300 questions

Hi,

I started shooting with my new DA 55-300 a few days ago but I can't get those crisp and colorful images you guys are posting.

I have an IST*DS so can't crop much and I am trying not to use a tripod so I need to keep the F stops high and the aperture low to avoid the shaking.

I tried using the EV+ 2.0 and the Auto bracketing EV+ 4.0 to take the F up to + 250 but to no avail (I've tried with the TV, M and landscape modes).

What steps can I take now? Tripod, shooting at high noon to get maximum ligth new camera with IS?

Thanks,

Jessy

07-14-2008, 08:42 AM   #2
Veteran Member

welcome jessy
if you're trying to handhold, the rule is 1 / 35mm equivalent focal length

so at 300mm out, your shutter speed should be around 1/500 (~ 1 / 300 x 1.5) to hold steady (and no IS on your ist). outdoors, this type of exposure should be easy to obtain. if you want to set the fastest shutter speed, go to Av mode, and set the f-number to the lowest and bump up the ISO to 800

i'm not sure what you're trying to accomplish with the EV, increasing EV will decrease the shutter speed
07-14-2008, 09:28 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
I was almost sure the EV changed the setting of the CCD like the ISO. Then I need to keep the ISO up and the F also.
07-14-2008, 09:48 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by IST*Jessy Quote
I was almost sure the EV changed the setting of the CCD like the ISO. Then I need to keep the ISO up and the F also.
Positive EV tells the camera to overexpose. It will try to overexpose by leaving the shutter open for longer. You use it when your subject is darker than the surroundings.