Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
05-16-2016, 01:52 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
switching primes to zoom

Hi everyone !
I have a general zoom vs prime question now that Pentax has a trinity lineup. First of all I am pretty new to Pentax and own a K-1. Before Pentax I was used to shoot primes. Seing the new zooms of pentax (10-30, 24-70, 70-200) packed with all the good stuff of WR, coating etc I am wondering if getting a zoom (the 24-70 for example) would be beneficial compared to owning 2 primes lens. Right now I have the Sigma 35mm f1.4, and I am planning to complete it with a telephoto lens (probably the 85mm f1.4). it bother me a lot to have to change primes every-time I need a different focal. Moreover I like the fact that a zoom will stays on the camera and is WR... I do not shoot studio, most of my shooting is astro/landscape/street. So here is my questions and concerns :

1) is the image quality of the primes that much superior of this zoom ? I am planning to print some of my work.
2) Will I be really impacted by the bookeh coming from f1.4 to f2.8 ? or this is just a slight change at those wide apertures ?
3) Personal experiences from switching ?

Remarks and questions are welcome.
Thank you guys !

05-16-2016, 02:39 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Ft:
Having similar lenses I will say that the one thing the zooms will provide is convenience. Less switching from one lens to another. But the primes with the wide apertures will provide some nice BG blurr (bokeh) that the zooms may not be able to provide. And yes, there is a difference between f1.4 and 2.8 in the BG.

Regards,
05-16-2016, 03:08 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Until Pentax puts weather seals on some more primes, the zooms are sadly the only way to protect the system to the max. Even if that starts happening it will be a while, so my thinking is that a good mix of zooms and special primes is the best choice for now.