Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-15-2008, 07:43 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Are you really using all of the lenses you own?

Disclaimer: I am only a casual photographer. Not a pro.

I have only three lenses:

Sigma 17-70mm
Pentax DA 50-200mm
Sigma Macro 50mm f/2.8

Sigma 17-70mm stays pretty much all the time on the K10D body. I have used macro lens only once and 50-200mm maybe five times since I got them about half a year ago. I usually take my camera for bike riding or to the park where my two year old kid plays so I only grab one lens and the camera. 90% of the time Sigma's 17-70mm focal length covers all my needs. Another 5% of the remaining 10% I can just simply get closer to the subject :-)

So it looks like I really do not need the extra two lenses. They just sit in the bag. I am thinking now about selling them to fund either dedicated P-TTL flash or maybe the DA 55-300mm. Flash would be better investment for me (me thinks).

What's your story. I know that a lot of you have way more lenses that I do but do you use them all?

07-15-2008, 07:52 AM   #2
Inactive Account

My wife and I use all of the lenses we have, however our lenses are all specific in purpose and are used in different ways for creative means during a photo shoot.

The only lens I have that I don't use (we bought early on and found that we never shoot beyond 75mm) is our DA 50-200. It's currently up for auction on Ebay.

Tamron 28-75 = main lens
FA 50 1.4 = short tele for portraits
FA 77 1.8 = just p/u. going to be a longer tele for portraits and candids
Sigma 70mm macro = used for stock photography

Some of the folks on this message board have hoards of lenses....given how I use the camera I can't imagine how they could use them all very frequently. Each lens is unique in it's own way though...so if you want a specific effect it's easiest to do it with a specific lens.

c[_]
07-15-2008, 08:03 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter