Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2007, 02:42 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Macro lense help....

OK I will eventually get a macro lense because I wish to have the best quality shot if I am going to make the effort and time involved to get a shot. A lot of photos shown on this forum have convinced me. I am a total novice at this and wish to know enough to make the best selection I can afford so if you would all be so kind as to bring me up to speed, I will have a better idea of the lense I should be putting aside $$$ toward.

On this forum I have seen shots from various mm lenses but I don't totally understand why. Macro lenses 50mm, 100mm, 150mm, 200mm. Could you please explain why for each length and what would be the best choice, in your personal experience and opinion.

Also I understand these lenses could have other uses than macro, such as portrait, which I probably will do very little except a cat or two, so what other uses can these lenses provide.

I have a K10D, Kit 18-55, and DA50-200

02-12-2007, 04:00 PM   #2
Inactive Account

a true "macro" lens will typically get you more magnification that the zooms that have macro function.

The focal length typically gives you different working distances. 50mm is good for things you can get close to. The 100mm allow you to sit back a bit further to get the same magnification - nice for buzzing bees and such
02-12-2007, 04:26 PM   #3
roy
Inactive Account

clarence,