Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-04-2016, 01:16 PM - 1 Like   #1
Pentaxian

Prime vs Zooms and changing lenses.

Just a remark from my last outing.

Last outing in Verona and Sirmione, Italia, I took DA15, DA35 ltd, FA77 and the 55-300 that was brought initially for a Safari. To replace the F135 in the bag.

I am so used to the small primes, that overall I didn't enjoy much using the 55-300. It felt big and when I used it I wanted more to switch to another lens than when I used the FA77. I also find the operation more bothersome than with the FA77.

I didn't really miss the DA21 that stayed home excepted when friend asked for environemental shots. I used the 35 for that as DA15 is too wide. But that's rationnalization. i didn't feel the lack of the 21.

I didn't have the issue at a zoo when most shoots needed 300mm+ and I used only the 55-300.

=> I am most happy with 3 small primes

Maybe that's irrationnal, but as I am not a pro, I don't have to have any productivity anyway. I can choose what I like best anyway

06-04-2016, 01:27 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Nicolas06 Quote
Maybe that's irrationnal, but as I am not a pro, I don't have to have any productivity anyway. I can choose what I like best anyway
To each his own in this sort of thing. The one benefit a zoom always provides is speed, when you need it. Light is nice, but if you miss the shot because you are hanging lenses, then ....

Y seem to like the lower end of the focal lengths as the 77 was the only tele you had. The 55-300 is really like an 80 to 450 in the 35mm world, so a pretty far reach, and even bigger and heavier in that world too!

Regards,

BD
06-04-2016, 02:32 PM   #3
Pentaxian At Large
Loyal Site Supporter

IF you like using what you have, that is great, many great photographers used only one or two lenses for their entire careers.
06-04-2016, 02:41 PM   #4
Pentaxian