Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-16-2008, 06:07 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
I took the plunge...Pentax DA 18-250mm

Hello,

I'm a newbie to DSLR. I purchased a Pentax K200D as well as a Pentax DA 18-250mm. My hope was to get a great zoom lens. I'm not all that impressed with the zoom on this lens (Pentax DA 18-250mm). It also appears to make things look farther away than with the naked eye. Is there a better lens that I should have purchased for it's zoom capabilities? I'm mainly interested in wildlife and shots of the grandkids playing soccer. As a side note, what is the advantage to shooting RAW over JPEG? Thanks so much for your help in advance...

07-16-2008, 06:59 PM   #2
Veteran Member

This is the second best post ever, the best was the guy complaining the view through the viewfinder was small with the 12-24 .... of course it is it's an ultra wide lens.

What I THINK you're saying is that 250 is still too short for you yes? If this is the case then really, try the Tamron 70-300 ($150), Pentax 55-300 ($350) or the Sigma 50-500 ($1,000) and 100-300 f/4 ($1,200).

RAW allows you to process the image, so if you change the colour and sharpness a little you do not "damage" the photo the way you would a jpeg.
07-16-2008, 11:41 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Hello Ty, welcome to the forums.
When you say it makes things appear farther away do you mean what you see through the view finder or in the captured photograph?

For the former, you may just want a magnifying eyepiece. Amazon.com: Pentax O-ME53 Magnifying Eye Piece for all Pentax DSLR Bodies: Electronics Lots of folks use them, myself included.

For the latter, I'm going to take a shot in the dark and make an assumption that SLR cameras with interchangeable lenses are still pretty greek to you. If I'm wrong please accept my apologies and skip the following.