Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-18-2016, 05:09 PM - 1 Like   #16
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by szffagier Quote
I'm not a pro just yet, so I'm still looking for my niche. I'd like to do landscape, astrophotography, interiors, environmental portraits... pretty much everything
If you are into this for the long-term, it may be worth considering whether the UWA lenses you buy today are full-frame compatible, or not.

Although many APS-C wide-angles will work fine on a FF camera like the K-1 in crop-mode or otherwise, FF and wide-angle do tend to go together.

At the moment there aren't many K-mount FF UWA's available new, aside from the SamYang 14mm and the Pentax 15-30. Either may be worth looking into if a FF body is in your future plans.

06-18-2016, 08:05 PM - 1 Like   #17
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have four ultra wides: the DA 15, the DA 12-24, the DA 10-17, and the Samyang-derived Rokinon 10 f2.8. My top recommendation would be the DA 12-24, or, if you want to go wider and you like Sigma glass, the Siggy 8-16. But the fact is, you can't really go wrong with any of the ultra-wides available for the K-mount, although some are a little better than others. Get whichever one you think best fits what you want to accomplish in your photography and which you can afford. If astrophotography is really important to you, you might want to check out either the Samyang 10 2.8 or 16 f2.0. If you want to go really wide, but don't want fisheye distortion, get the aforementioned Siggy 8-16. If you don't mind fisheye distortion, get the DA 10-17. If you don't need to go quite so wide and want Pentax colors, get the DA 12-24. If you want flare control, superb contrast and color, and starbursts, get a used SMC DA 15. If you're cash-strapped, look for a used Siggy 10-20 f4-5.6 or Tamron 10-24. Lots of choices, but none of them are wrong.
06-19-2016, 01:43 PM   #18

Original Poster