Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-18-2016, 05:05 AM   #1

Ultra wide angle fight!

Hi! That's my first post on the forum, but have been reading for a while

I'm in the search for ultra wide angle lens, at the moment the widest I've got is 18-55mm kit lens (I believe it's one of the very basic versions, as it doesn't have focus lenght numbers, nor the green line (it's red) on it - 3.5-5.6, so quite slow..) on crop sensor x1.5 [pentax k3]
I've seen thousands of reviews and got down to two options:

1. Sigma 8-16mm f/4.5-5.6 DC HSM @ 450 pounds for 1 ultra wide angle,

OR

2. Samyang 10mm f/2.8 @300 pounds + Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM @279 = 579 pounds - for ultra wide angle fast prime + kit lens upgrade
Please help!

I'm not a pro just yet, so I'm still looking for my niche. I'd like to do landscape, astrophotography, interiors, environmental portraits... pretty much everything

06-18-2016, 06:15 AM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are quite a few options. I think it depends a lot on your shooting style and preferences. Some of the UWA zooms can be quite large and heavy. The Sigma 8-16, 10-20, 12-24, Pentax 12-24, and Tamaron 12-24 are all large heavy lenses that are not very portable. You can read reviews here.
DA 12-24mm vs Sigma and Tamron 10-24mm Comparison Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews
Sigma 10-20mm F3.5 vs F4.0-5.6 Review - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews
These are all rectangular lens but there also is the Pentax 10-17 f4 fisheye. Often overlooked it can be used for UWA if one pays attention to composition. Defishing has become very easy with modern software.