Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-13-2016, 08:37 PM   #1

Need Basic Lens Advice--this one or that one?

I recently got a large bag. Ever since I got into digital SLRs I've traveled light, with one camera, 2-3 lenses, and a flash, Now I can carry a very large kit, which I always did in my film days. (Just because!)

I'm really a true amateur when it comes to the technology and understanding of lenses, so keep that in mind, please. I have a DA 18-55 kit lens, which I think is fine but so-so. I usually carry a very old, non-autofocus but Vivitar Series 1 24-70 with A setting, which is similar in focal length since it is a 35mm lens. I also have an old 35mm Takumar A 28-80 that I inherited from my late father a few years back. I've really never used it since the focal length is so close to my Series 1 Vivitar. So I don't really know how well it will do compared to that lens. My dad got some good photos using it with his Super Program decades back.

I know the answer of which lens to carry can really be answered by using both of the old manual lenses on similar subjects and choose based on that. But I want to know if there might be anything I might be missing as far as camera operation with these lenses, or with comparison between the two that serious lens folks might tell me? I have no issues with manual focus lenses or with giving up options that the DA lenses give me. It just brings me closer to my roots. I'll carry my DA lenses anyway because I have room, will sometimes need the speed of using them, and will want to have the full capabilities of my cameras and flash, but no sense carrying near duplicate manual focus lenses, if that's what they are.

Thanks,

Mark

07-13-2016, 09:20 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter