Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-20-2008, 09:18 PM   #1
Senior Member




Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 135
Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG plays up with my K20D

Hello, My Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG plays up with my K20D menu, the menu wont stay on, all my other lenes work ok and let the menu stay on.
I don't know if I had the problem before with my K100D, but today I checked the K100D and it does have the same problem.

I read on another forum someone had a similar problem with their Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG and a K10D, although it was distorting the screen.

Is anyone else having this problem with any lens and do you think this could cause damage to the camera, is it safe to continue using ?

Rodney.

07-21-2008, 12:44 AM   #2
Veteran Member
ftpaddict's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Yurp
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 4,669
Try cleaning the contacts on your lens. There might be an imperfect connection and the screen turns off whenever you connect a new lens.
07-21-2008, 02:40 AM   #3
Senior Member




Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 135
Original Poster
QuoteQuote:
Try cleaning the contacts on your lens.
Thank You,
What is the best way to clean the contacts ?
07-21-2008, 06:05 AM   #4
Veteran Member
ftpaddict's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Yurp
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 4,669
QuoteOriginally posted by Rodney9 Quote
Thank You,
What is the best way to clean the contacts ?
I've never needed it done, so I wouldn't know what the best way is. My guess is some alcohol and a soft piece of lint-free cloth. Treat is as you would treat any sensitive electronic device.

07-21-2008, 08:41 PM   #5
Senior Member




Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 135
Original Poster
All Fixed Now

I went to 'Harvey Norman', an electrical retail shop here, and asked at the camera counter about my problem. The kids serving there had no idea, but I was lucky the Canon photographic representative was there.

He asked what camera and lens I had and told me to try just wiping the contacts with a lint free cloth and never use household alcohol as it will leave some residue behind, and may fry your camera.

He said if the cloth didn't work I would have to take it to a service center where they are licensed to use pure alcohol that evaporates completely and leaves no residue.

Lucky for me I had just bought new spectacles which came with a lint free cloth. I carefully wiped the contacts and there was a tiny amount of dirt that came off.

Now the lens and camera are working perfectly, and who would think I'd be thanking Canon, they certainly have a friendly and helpful rep.

Rodney.
07-22-2008, 12:41 AM   #6
Veteran Member
ftpaddict's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Yurp
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 4,669
QuoteOriginally posted by Rodney9 Quote
All Fixed Now

Eh, woops. Glad to hear it's working for you, and that you didn't follow my advice.
07-23-2008, 03:39 AM   #7
Senior Member




Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 135
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by ftpaddict Quote
Eh, woops. Glad to hear it's working for you, and that you didn't follow my advice.
Well Thank You Ftpaddict, at least you tried, no one else did, we are all learning all the time.
07-23-2008, 06:17 AM   #8
Veteran Member
gkopeliadis's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: ATHENS, GREECE
Posts: 311
QuoteOriginally posted by Rodney9 Quote
...Now the lens and camera are working perfectly, and who would think I'd be thanking Canon, they certainly have a friendly and helpful rep.
It seems that they allways do

07-23-2008, 07:01 PM   #9
Site Supporter
SpecialK's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So California
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 14,437
Recently (today), in preparation to selling my Sigma 70-300 and another lens, I was informed by the possible buyer "it has a problem with the aperture".

Say what? It worked last time I used it, and I only wiped it off last night. Sure enough, a flopping blade...

Attachment 15818

I guess I got the 55-300 just in time...

Last edited by SpecialK; 06-04-2015 at 08:04 PM.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
70-300mm, 70-300mm f4-5.6 apo, apo, dg, f4-5.6, f4-5.6 apo dg, k-mount, k100d, k20d, menu, pentax lens, sigma, slr lens
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sigma 70-300mm APO or Tamron 70-300mm? Colorado CJ Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 6 10-12-2010 02:49 PM
Pentax 55-300mm versus Sigma 70-300mm DG APO Macro mazdamazda Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 49 07-27-2010 12:46 AM
For Sale - Sold: FS: FA 77mm limited, Sigma 17-70mm DC Macro, Sigma 70-300mm APO DG chemxaj Sold Items 10 03-17-2008 08:55 AM
Sigma 70-300mm DG APO vs non-APO (or, did I make a bad choice?) aerodave Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 28 09-01-2007 01:51 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top