Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-13-2016, 08:38 AM   #1
Forum Member

Help a newbie buying stuff - opinion on future gears

Hi guys,

a very few of you may know me. For the others, I'm a student who, for 4 years, shots mainly videos with a camcorder. Then I saw timelapses, I wanted to make my own and I developed my own interpretation of a motorized slider + head (pan/tilt) controlled with Arduino. I've already read Langford's Advanced Photography and saw a lot of videos. So I may know things, but I don't have direct experiences at all with photography and camera gear. For this, I seek your help

I made up my mind and, short after the next Photokina I plan to buy this stuff:
  1. -Pentax K-3 II
  2. -Sigma 8-16
  3. -Sigma 18-35
  4. -Pentax 55-300 (newer or older version?)
for these reasons:
  1. 719€ on amazon.de, K-70 at 699€... so far, it seems a better choice for autofocus and astrotracer - might be worse for autofocus...this is also my price ceiling unfortunatelly, so probably I can't afford a K-3 III soon.
    I am losing in low light abilities compared to K-70?
  2. resolution and linear wide lens. Pentax 10-17 is fisheye right? What I am honestly losing if I will "defished" all my future shot made with a Pentax 10-17? Are there some reasons to prefer the Pentax interpretation?
  3. I love the idea behind this lens. Being a collection of primes in a small, versatile pocket. For the same reason, I love the 50-100. Too bad it's still unavailble for Pentax. Hope it will be soon*
  4. just a "inexpensive" (400€... not too much), telephoto zoom. Any alternatives?
*I'll buy Pentax, that's for sure because of its SR, Pixelshift, Astrotracer and general better features compared to same price competitors' models. Hope Pentax or Sigma will realease a lens with same carachteristic. Otherwise, I'll end buying two prime max.