Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-22-2016, 11:00 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Wrong Adapter? Help.

I purchased a rthter nice Super-Takumar 200mm F4 at a local photo show for an attractive price. It is super-clean, both the metal body and the interior glass.

I did a little "star-testing" this evening on a K-1 body, and, not too bad !!

However, I noticed that the mount adapter did not seem to be giving me a positive connection on the bayonet side - no click or lock - and if I am not careful, I can accidentally start unscrewing the lens .... obviously I have little experience with screw mounts ...

I am beginning to think I have the wrong adapter.

I purchased a Fotodiox m42 to pentax K adapter.

Is this the wrong one?

tnx for any advice.

-- rick

08-22-2016, 11:29 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
That's pretty much how screwmount lenses are, that said, you'll probably get a tighter fit with the genuine adapter, which I'd strongly recommend if you plan on using a lot of M42 lenses.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/673977-REG/Pentax_30120_MOUNT_ADAPTER_K.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
08-23-2016, 07:55 AM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by rcolman Quote
However, I noticed that the mount adapter did not seem to be giving me a positive connection on the bayonet side - no click or lock - and if I am not careful, I can accidentally start unscrewing the lens .... obviously I have little experience with screw mounts ...