Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
11-15-2016, 12:35 PM   #1

COMPLETE Newbie/Beginner - Question About Tamron AF 90mm Macro f/2.8 Di SP

I am completely new to the the DSLR world, but very much looking forward to learning and exploring. I am the recent owner of a KS2 and am looking to find a macro lens, which I found my options are the Tamron or Pentax 100mm. I am interested in the Tamron for budget reasons and have found one eBay, but the pictures are not great - it says it is for Pentax, but there is probably no way to tell really without a clear picture of the mount, right? I am hesitant to buy because I do not want to get stuck with something that will not work for my camera. I am also not sure if I am allowed to post links to eBay listings. Thank you for any advice or direction you experts can offer - and for listening to a complete newbie/beginner.

11-15-2016, 12:49 PM - 1 Like   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Hello and welcome to the forums

If the auction says it's for Pentax, you should be fine... and if it turns out not to be, you have every right to return it; eBay will always act in the buyer's favour on issues like that.

I have both lenses - the DFA100 f/2.8 WR in Pentax mount, and the Tamron SP 90 Di f/2.8 in Sony A-mount. Optically, there is very little to choose between them. The Pentax may be slightly sharper at f/2.8, but from f/4 there really is nothing in it subjectively (and for macro use you will likely be stopping down to at least f/8 anyway). The most recent version of the Pentax lens has better build quality than the Tamron and benefits from quick-shift manual focusing while in AF mode; but, the Tamron has a focus limiter which helps to avoid the lens racking back and forth throughout the whole range, and I prefer the feel of the manual focus mechanism.