Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-30-2008, 05:59 PM   #1
Forum Member

How much zoom power do I need.

Hey
Ok so I am a rank newbie who is totally in love with her K20. One of my favorite things to shoot are dogs at trials (agility in particular, and possibly some racing) Most of the time I will be 20-100 feet away from the dog.

So when saving pennies for a new lens, any suggestions? I have a used manual focus 1:4 70-210mm (no idea what those numbers mean exactly ) with a 2X tele converter. I like that lens but am not really getting the hang of manual focus. (some pics are great-most really suck and I don't know why)

oops sorry accidentally posted in wrong forum.. can some mod move it for me?

Last edited by Dekka; 07-30-2008 at 06:00 PM. Reason: wrong spot.
07-30-2008, 06:18 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Does the 70-210 give you enough reach? If not, the first lens that comes to mind is the Bigma 50-500mm. It's a hefty lens though, and while not a very fast lens, is still faster than your current setup. If you are getting enough reach, then a faster setup would be a 70-200mm Tamron or Sigma with a quality TC. Both options will run you close to a grand. If that is not anywhere near what you can spend, your only other choice is one of the consumer 70-300mm lenses. But with that, you will lose some range. You can pair it with a 1.4x TC, but unless the light is really good, AF will suffer to the point of almost not working at ll. Even in good light, AF performance will take a hit and require a little work and practice to use effectively. There are also some 100-400mm lenses out there, but I'm really not familiar with any of them. I'll leave that to someone else.
07-30-2008, 06:49 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery