Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-06-2008, 01:26 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Do I need my 50/1.4?

I'm pretty new to photography, and haven't really had the chance to shoot with any of the more expensive lens. I currently have a K10D with the 18-55 kit lens, the FA50/1.4 and a Tamron 70-300.

-I've mainly held on to my kit lens for the wide angle.
-I really like the 50mm. Easily my favorite lens of the bunch.
-The Tamron, I just got, but for the price, I was pleasantly surprised and I've been having fun with macro.

That being said, I've been looking at lens in a similar focal range as the 50mm, but something a little shorter. This includes the FA43 ltd, DA40, DA35 Macro ltd, and the FA35 (wish I could afford the 31mm).

As tough a decision to decision it is to decide on a lens, its just as tough to decide whether I'd still need my 50/1.4 or if I should part ways with it to help finance a new lens. Would it even get used much if I had one of the aforementioned lens? Chances are, I'd probably keep it, just because it's been my favorite lens since I bought my Pentax less than a year ago.

Just wanted to hear anyone's thoughts...

08-06-2008, 01:32 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi Paolo, I'm also in Houston (Clearlake).

Why not just keep the 50mm? You won't find anything faster in the Pentax lineup, and the price is right. As for the other lenses, I can't speak for them. I know the people that have them, like them. I've found I'm more of a zoom guy, though. I had the 77Ltd, but found I was using the DA*50-135 much more often, so I sold my 77Ltd, and haven't really regretted it.

To me, the differences between the FA50 and the other lenses you mentioned are a couple of clicks on the aperture setting and a few steps back. The one truly different lens would be the 35mm macro. That's a different focal length, plus the macro feature is useful.
08-06-2008, 01:35 PM   #3