Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-14-2017, 12:53 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Use of Tokina 28-70 AT-X F2.8 Pro II (OR AT-X 270 Pro II)

I had been looking for a lens in the 24-70 F2.8 genre for some time. I originally was going to go after the HD-DFA 24-70 but, honestly, I am not a pro and I truly can't justify that cost.

I had looked at the sigma in both the screw drive and HSM as well as the tamron. I didn't go with the sigmas as they were both cost prohibitive relative to their IQ. Which left the tamron, which I bought used.

The tamron arrived and it was damaged straight off, loose barrel and a crack near the filter ring... Not good, so it's getting returned. I was also not impressed with the build quality overall.

I did some more digging and came across the Tokina 28-70 F2.8 AT-X Pro version 2 (it has the bayonet mount hood). The more I looked into it the more it seemed like a viable option. The pictures I saw with it had great color, and supposedly when its stopped down it is pretty sharp throughout the range (according to photozone.de). Its also all metal construction and reportedly "built like a tank". So I bought one.

These lenses are known for both flare, and CA. The flare is handled by buying a different hood according to several posts and reviews I have read, but the CA at 28mm and F2.8 is hard to correct for. Yes, it can be handled in PP but I like to try to get the shot as close to perfect as possible before going to PP. Further, stopping down doesn't help the problem, it makes it worse.

Given the above I know there are folks here on this forum who use this lens, and was hoping for some pointers to help me reduce/eliminate the CA and flare issue. I have seen many of the pictures taken from this lens in the ATX pro lens club and they are gorgeous. Any help from you guys would be great!

02-14-2017, 01:19 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums