Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-07-2008, 09:01 AM   #1
Forum Member

zoom lens for Program Plus

My wife came with a Program Plus and some 49mm lens which I assumed was the stock one. I would really like a modest range zoom lens both for more closeup and more zoomed shots. I was going to buy this

http://www.keh.com/OnLineStore/ProductDetail.aspx?groupsku=PK079990025520&br...&GBC=&GCC=&KW=

but I found anoter forum thread that said these were old, cheap lenses that were bad. I'm a hobbyist and all but I don't want a lens that will make my photos unsharp, because as a newbie I'm a stickler for sharpness. At such an affordable price (I can't afford more than $50usd), should I just steer clear?

08-07-2008, 09:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Here's some reviews of that F35-80 lens Pentax Lens Review Database - 35-80mm F4-5.6 - doesn't seem to be very good. There are plenty of good cheap lenses, for example the FA28-70/4.

Check out the lens reviews part of the forum for more info.
08-07-2008, 09:51 AM   #3
Veteran Member

KEH Camera: Pentax Manual Focus - Zoom Lenses - 35-70 F3.5-4.5 SMC A MACRO (49) 35MM SLR MANUAL FOCUS ZOOM WIDE ANGLE LENS
might be a better choice - although 'ugly' may be a bit too decrepit.

The issue is that you want an K-A zoom, and most of the Pentax ones KEH has at the moment are M, or more expensive, or 'ugly'

The good news is that there are many K-A mount third party zooms listed.
this one for example
KEH Camera: Pentax Manual Focus - Non-Mfg Zoom Lenses - 28-70 F3.5-4.5 TOKINA MACRO SD A (52) /2 TOUCH WITH CAPS 35MM SLR MANUAL FOCUS ZOOM WIDE ANGLE LENS
08-07-2008, 10:47 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Why not get a 50mm and split the difference?

08-07-2008, 11:31 AM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster