Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-23-2017, 09:24 AM   #1
Veteran Member

laowa or irix for FF real estate photography?

So im a real estate photographer and I'm interested in a couple companies that make wide angles.

First theres Laowa which has a 15mm f/4 with shift ability (probably the highest selling point for my purposes). And they also have the 12mm f/2.8 with almost no barrel distortion

On the other hand theres irix with a 15mm f/2.4. Doesnt have shift but has larger aperture. And they just announced an 11mm f/4. Which is slightly wider than laowa's but is smaller aperture.

What are your thoughts? Or perhaps a good combo would be the irix 15mm and the laowa 12mm?

02-23-2017, 09:43 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I believe the shift capability is not terribly useful on FF (vignetting, etc.). Moreover, I would like to wait a few years to see what sort of QC track record these lenses have before investing them. Not sure Chinese manufacturing is up to task for making reliable precision optics.

Do you really need FF for real estate photography? I would've thought a wide angle zoom along with an APS-C DSLR would make the most sense. But if FF were absolutely necessary for my real estate photography, I wouldn't mess around: I'd get the DFA 15-30.
02-23-2017, 09:56 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think the Irix 15mm is a better choice than the Laowa with shift. The problem with the Laowa/Venus 12mm is that, SFAIK, it is not yet available at least in K-mount. I have had a standing "notify me when available" @ B&H for maybe two months, but so far it is "more coming - - eventually - - maybe." Do you know of a merchant who has a K-mount Venus 12mm in stock??
02-23-2017, 10:03 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter