Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-10-2008, 01:11 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
CPC Macro/zoom mounted on ist DL

I'm a newbie here and a novice with the lens so I'll apologize upfront if this is a basic problem/solution.

I just picked up a CPC auto zoom 80-200mm 1:40 CCT lens that was listed as compatible with my Pentax ist DL. The lens (which I think is a K-mount) does not "lock" into the ist DL body but swivels a bit when mounted. Subsequently the shutter will not atuate although the macro/zoom feature seems fine when viewed through the lens.

The camera documentation was of no help so any/all suggestions or help will be appreciated. TIA.

08-10-2008, 02:54 PM   #2
Veteran Member

welcome to the forum
just a guess but perhaps the flange at the back is too big and is bumping the mirror
08-10-2008, 06:59 PM   #3

Original Poster
Checked that already and it doesn't seem to be the case. I appreciate the thought though, thanks.
08-10-2008, 09:07 PM   #4
Moo

Does it have electrical contacts on the mount? If not, set the custom menu option for "allow aperture ring use" to on, or however they are called...

08-11-2008, 09:44 PM   #5

Original Poster
Yes it has electrical contacts, however it does not fit the camera body. I've tried it on non digital Pentax SLR's (both Manual and AF) and it fits fine, just not on the ist series. It mounts into the body properly but does turn completely nor does it lock. Nothing seems amiss or bent and another more seasoned Pentax pro was puzzled also.
08-12-2008, 07:11 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums