Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-19-2017, 11:54 AM   #1

Adjusting Infinity On a SMC Tak f1.4. Clarification needed!

Hello folks, I hope you are well!

My name is John and I am a keen photographer who has to work on a budget. After searching around for a new lens I stumbled on to how I could use vintage lenses on my nikon. From there I picked up a SMC Takumar 1.4 after doing a lot of research which included this forum (so thank you!). So far am chuffed with it, the lens seems sharper and with nice bokeh then my nikkor 35mm 1.8g.

However, am trying to adjust the helicoid so I can hopefully get infinity focus back or somewhere close. Am using the guide linked on the forum (This one http://k10dpentax.blogspot.co.uk/2009/03/fixing-infinity-focus-on-takumar-lenses.html)

My understanding is that you remove the filter ring, loosen the barrel, twist the focus away from infinity, re tighten the screw for the barrel, then twist the lens back to infinity. That causes the helicoid's position to move closer to the camera, regaining some of the lost focus. This worked fine on my Super Tak 135mm, but the helicod refuses to budge on my 50mm.

What am I missing folks?

Any help would be much appreciated

Attached is what am looking at (the lens has a knurled focus grip rather than a shape metal one featured in the guide)

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
NIKON D90  Photo 
06-19-2017, 01:08 PM   #2

What do you mean it refuses to budge? Can you not turn the focus at all?

If that is not the case there is a stop on the focus barrel to keep from turning past infinity or minimum focus. Sometimes it is easier to remove the focus barrel.