Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 5 Likes Search this Thread
06-27-2017, 01:43 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
PLM 55-300 vs Tamron 70-200 f2.8 decision

Everything is in the title.

Anybody owning both or either can help with the cons and pros of each lens? I'm not interested at all in the tamron or sigma 70-300, from the review they didn't seemed so good and the AF looked aweful.

I'm very new to photography, I own currently a K-S2 with the 18-50mm kit lens and a DA f1.8 50mm (Which I love)
So far what I've gathered is :

Tamron pros :

- f2.8 (Is it really necessary on a telephoto?)
- Macro

Does it have better image quality ? How's the AF ?

PLM 55-300 pros :

- AF is very quick and silent
- Weather resistant
- Bigger range

Is mainly to shoot small animals and portrait but the macro option was tempting. Would a simple close-up filter on the 55-300 be enough to play around ?

Is the weather sealing good enough to take pictures in the winter without problems ? Can pentax go lower in temperature than other DSLR on the market?

If there is already a thread about this, please let me know.

Thanks !

06-27-2017, 01:58 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Usually lenses like the 55-300 while acceptable on their own, don't play nice with a lot of magnification. I'd be hesitant to go that route/ If you buy it, buy it for what it is. IMHO ƒ4 is necessary on a long lens, it lets you use a TC to extend your reach when needed. ƒ5,6 going to ƒ8 is going to slow your AF down.

200mm is limited for a telephoto. YOu have to plan to put a TC on it, but the Tamron is ƒ2.8 so sit shouldn't be a problem. However, a 200mm lens with the 1.4 is still only ƒ4 but only 280mm.

I'd go with the 55-300, just for convenience.

Last edited by normhead; 06-28-2017 at 05:15 AM.
06-27-2017, 03:46 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter