Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
07-05-2017, 03:27 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 APO EX or SMC Pentax FA* 80-200mm f2.8 ED ?

Which one actually performs better? And why? Your views are welcome. I have no experience with either of the lenses.

07-05-2017, 03:28 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For FF or APS-C use?

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
07-05-2017, 04:41 AM - 1 Like   #3

Photos: Gallery
Just my two cents - check the Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 as well. Not weather sealed but full-frame lens that is very sharp for the price. Noisy on autofocus but still very fast. Rock-solid lens for less than $800.

Fast Sports Zoom Lenses for Pentax Review - 70-200mm Sigma & Tamron | PentaxForums.com Reviews
07-05-2017, 05:29 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

And look around for a Tammy 70~200. I nabbed a new one for under $600 from a Canadian dealer. Screw drive is noisier, maybe slower, but has generally been more reliable than lens-based AF

Also consider size & weight:

Pentax 70~200 = 203mm long, 1.75kg
Sigma 70~200 = 184mm long, 1.37kg
Tamron 70~200 = 194mm long, 1.15kg.

The Sigma wins on size, the Tamron wins on weight, by quite a bit over the Pentax.

Last edited by WPRESTO; 07-05-2017 at 05:40 AM.
07-05-2017, 08:28 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Size or not the D-FA is the one. If not the FA* is a very close second albeit not marked WR and has ScrewDrive AF. Anything else is a compromise.
07-05-2017, 01:20 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery