Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-18-2008, 08:47 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Pardon my ignorance re focal lengths...

Having jumped into the photo game after the introduction of DSLR, I have no knowledge of the focal difference between using on a DSLR vs film (nor do I probably need to understand it at this point.) However the question I have is when comparing the FA's to the DA's, are we comaparing apples to apples in the focal length? For example when using both FA 77 LTD and the DA 70 LTD on a DSLR is the focal length of the 77 truly only 7 longer than the 70?
Thx in advance...

08-18-2008, 09:07 AM   #2
Veteran Member

first of all the focal length is the focal length ... 77mm is 77mm

because of the predominance of the film days, most focal lengths are compared using a 35mm equivalent, and with an DSLR with an APS-C size sensor (like all pentax dslrs, smaller than a frame of film), there is a crop factor of 1.5 applied to the focal length to get the 35mm equivalent focal length (about 115mm)
08-18-2008, 09:11 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Focal lengths are always the same. The FA77 is a 77mm on any camera. The FA77 is 7mm longer (roughly) than the DA70 on a DSLR. There is no need to get confused here.

However a given focal length will give a different field of view on a DSLR with a sensor smaller than 35mm film. The FA77 gives a smaller FOV on a K100D than on a K1000. That is the "crop factor" (misnomer) people speak of.

It is true that people say the FA77 "acts like" a 77 x 1.5 = 114mm on a DSLR. But that is just shorthand.
08-18-2008, 09:12 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Snap!

08-18-2008, 09:22 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Without being harsh I am staggered at the confusion this presents people. Now compacts are difficult but int he DSLR world it's mind blowingly simple.