Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-11-2017, 11:13 PM   #1

Getting Asahi Pentax Spotmatic in 2017?

Hi peeps,

I'm a professional photographer using Fuji system. Lately, I've been intrigue by film photography and been browsing forums / reviews / youtube for slr cameras.

My question is, is it ok to buy the legend Asahi Pentax Spotmatic today ?

I'm thorn between getting this or Minolta SRT 102 because they have same price in my area.

08-11-2017, 11:43 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Of course, but as with all old cameras, it will need a clean, lubricate and adjust. Very robust camera.
08-12-2017, 02:49 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

You can get your Spotmatic serviced by Eric - who is a legend here. You will probably need new foam light seals too.... also here is a featured article about Eric.And here is the M42 lens database
08-12-2017, 11:03 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Yes, it'll be fine to get a Spotmatic nowadays. There may be a chance you'll need to get it a good CLA like others have suggested and have Eric H. check it out & do any repairs, he comes highly recommended from alot of forum members. It usually depends on how well the camera was taken care of before hand if you need it CLA'd, but if it feels like something may be off or you're unsure/just want it checked out, send it.

08-12-2017, 06:00 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I would suggest getting a K1000, KM or KX if you are wanting to do film. If you go with a Spotmatic, you will be stuck with just using screw mount lenses, which is not necessary a bad thing but getting a K1000, KM or KX, you would be able to use any Pentax K mount lens that has an aperture ring plus all the screw mount lenses with the proper screw mount to K mount adapter.

No matter what you go with, getting a CLA is still a good idea.
08-13-2017, 04:40 AM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter