Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2008, 04:39 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Aging Tamron 75-300- What next?

Hi,

I'm a wildlife photographer based in India. I use a Pentax K 100D with the kit lens, a Vivitar 50mm f/1.7 and Tamron 75-300 f/4-5.6 LD AF. I'm waiting for a Sigma 170-500 f/5-6.3 APO DG that'll arrive in around 6 weeks (took a hell lot of looking around to find my mount, and finally having to get it made to order from Japan).

A couple of months ago while I was on a shoot the Tamron's focusing ring refused to move beyond the 50m mark. I got it fixed in Bangalore and a worn plastic bush was to blame. It has been replaced now and the lens is optically sound now and auto-focusing fine. But, the focus ring sometimes feels crude now and at times the lens refuses to dismount from the body if I've left the body in AF mode... I have to bring the switch on the body back to 'M' to dismount the lens.

I guess the lens will go on for at least another year without glitches, but still, its not a nice feeling owning less-than-perfect glass...

The Sigma 170-500 overlaps most of this lens's range, but I'd still want something to replace the Tamron. Something that is hand-holdable, covers the difference between my 18-55 and the big Sigma (and I'm still inclined towards 300mm at the long end), to shoot large mammals. But I don't think I'll go in for another conventional 75-300 (unless its Pentax)... I want something sharper, not so expensive and preferably Pentax to replace my aging (only 1 and 1/2 years old) Tamron.

Would love some advice here.

The Pentax 55-300 looks interesting. Also, I'm wondering about a 100-300 f/4 if I can get it for similar cash.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Aditya

Last edited by Aditya Panda; 08-23-2008 at 05:04 AM. Reason: typo
08-23-2008, 05:03 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
go for a used sigma APO 70-200 F2.8 EX and a 1.4x Sigma TC.