Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-24-2017, 02:18 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

+Use of HD DA AF Rear Converter 1.4X AW

I am considering purchasing a HD DA AF Rear Converter 1.4X AW to use with my K-3 camera and HD DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens.
Does anyone have experience of this combination and can comment on:

Image sharpness/degradation compared with using the lens only.
Reduction in viewfinder brightness (has this been a problem).
Autofocus performance.
Accuracy of the camera metering system.
Any adjustments to the camera settings required to optimise performance.
Any problems you have encountered using this combination.

Many thanks for your assistance.

10-24-2017, 02:38 AM   #2
Seeker of Knowledge
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I hope this might help you out.

I have not used my 1.4 with that lens but I have used it with this one: SMC Pentax-DA L 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED

I am a newbie and not technical so I can't answer your questions, only show what I was able to capture

I don't remember any problems and I like the combination

the first photo of each set is uncropped and no pp
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3  Photo 
10-24-2017, 04:46 AM   #3
Master of the obvious
Loyal Site Supporter

As Aslyfox I have tried only with the SMC version.

I didn't test extensively, but concluded that there was no point using the TC on that lens.
- I couldn't tell the difference between images using the TC vs cropping (if anything, the cropped ones came out slightly better)
- Focusing felt decidedly more sluggish (with the K-3 )
- I can't remember the viewfinder being noticeably darker
- Metering was not a problem