Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2017, 01:51 PM   #1

Looking for advise for lens filters

Hi all,

I just entered SLR world, and I am mainly taking black and white photos. and according to my research (if I studied right) orange filter enhance the black and white photos.

so here is my question, which brand is well known for affordable filters? I know there is B+H, samyang, Benro, carl zeiss. but these are to expensive on my budget. I have K1000 with 35mm f2 lens (very beginner's setting), also I dont want to use those 4-10 bucks filters..

PS. I dont know this is right categories for this kind of questions, if not please let me know I will move it to right place.

10-25-2017, 02:44 PM - 2 Likes   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hello astronomer08,
Your comment: "orange filter enhance the black and white photos." Well, the answer there is maybe yes and maybe no.
You might want to consider this link : Using Coloured Filters in Black and White Photography | Photography Mad
As for the best compromise between quality and price, there will be many opinions, but it boils down to what works best for you.
10-25-2017, 04:55 PM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Filters

I have quite a few filters made by Tiffen and Hoya and I've been very satisfied with them. I think those two brands provide a good level of quality for the price.
10-25-2017, 05:59 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Film era filters are cheap as chips on ebay used. Often with an old camera kit. I have a box full I've collected over the years at no cost since they came with something else I wanted. They might not be the best and newest but for a few dollars you can try and see if you like the effect. If you watch carefully for old camera kits sometimes you can get a complete filter set for a few dollars.

10-25-2017, 07:25 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter