Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-19-2017, 01:40 AM   #61
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ffking Quote
One thing that interested me was that there is more of the table runner visible to the sides on the bowl/pot with the 31mm - maybe some of our optical experts can explain that - is it just because the front element of the lens is physically further away in the smaller prime?
I am not an optical expert, but you can also see in the background corners that the zoom had a wider angle of view. To achieve that, it's going to distort more of the edges and corners and effectively squeeze the space to the side of the bowl.

Why does the same focal length in a prime create different angles of view than the same focal length with a zoom, assuming you're using a "locked down" tripod for both shots?

11-19-2017, 08:45 AM   #62
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Dewman Quote
What would YOU consider a "clinical" image?
For me, nearly all of my product photography is most certainly "clinical". Usually devoid of any interpretation at all, unless specified by client which happens rarely.

It means having full and total control of everything... set up, lighting, exposure, camera, and even for me so far as lunch.

Everything to get the job done meeting the clients brief, as usually contractually agreed in advance.

This would be a good example of type of image I'm trying to describe (keeping it on a photographic theme too)... obviously before any retouching work has been carried out.
Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K20D  Photo 

Last edited by Kerrowdown; 11-19-2017 at 04:25 PM.
11-19-2017, 09:15 AM   #63
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Kerrowdown Quote