Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-26-2017, 09:14 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Indoor & architecture FF lens choices

First off I'm a landscape orientated photographer, but there's a chance of some work coming up that may entail a few indoor shots. (I say a few, so maybe not realistic to invest too much, at present, unless I have no option.) Let's say I need to capture groups of folk coming and going into and out of a strong architectural structured building - think classical columns and staircases. Maybe some daylight, but mostly mixed electric lighting.

Quality is not going to be for large print, so I'll likely have to get out of my 100 ISO mindset ;-) I don't know the scale of the interior, so I don't know how fast the lens will have to be, but I suspect I'll not want to go too fast with very shallow dof.

I suspect the 15-30, would be too cumbersome, conspicuous and heavy. I have the 24-70, but the distortion at 24mm is not great - I'm concerned that the architecture may be a challenge for it. I can't say whether the scale might allow 24mm to be adequately wide or whether I need to look for wider options. The Samyang 24mm with its manual focusing may be a problem. I'm happy to focus manually when I have time, but I won't have in these circumstances.

This is probably a wedding type photography challenge, I'm guessing, but with a focus on maintaining the architectural accuracy, where possible.

So any thoughts welcome as I try and gather my thoughts for forthcoming discussions ...